Back in early November, Microsoft announced that they were going to be reducing the free 15GB of OneDrive cloud storage that users were given down to 5GB. This caused quite the storm online with many people complaining to Microsoft about their sudden back tracking regarding free storage. However, today, Microsoft have decided that those users who did sign up for 15GB of storage will now be able to keep their 15GB plus the 15GB that users could get for using Camera Roll after all, but they will need to confirm that by clicking an opt-in link. Please note that OneDrive users should do this before the January 31st 2016 deadline.
While it’s annoying that Microsoft customers need to jump through these hoops to retain what was already given to them for free; at least Microsoft have listened to customers and acted accordingly.
The process is very straight forward and only takes a few seconds to complete. Firstly, head to this link and click on Keep Your Free Storage.
Once you have done that, you will see a new message showing that you were successful and you will now be able to keep the original 15GB of free storage that your were given by OneDrive as well as the free 15GB that you were given as a bonus for using OneDrive’s Camera Roll.
Hope that helps.